Honey Cake With Lavender and Rosemary

IMG_8619-2.JPG

We have some bees in the family although I’m not close with them, in fact I have a love hate relationship with them. I don’t want to live with them, but I want all the booty they have on offer, quite selfish of me really, but that’s what comes from having been stung too many times in life!

IMG_8127.JPG

Thankfully I don’t have to rise to the challenge of maintaining and extracting the honey, that’s grandpa’s job and the small ones love to watch and get their fingers sticky when they can!

20140802-075024 pm-71424059.jpg

So this cake is a collaboration between what the bees have foraged and what I have foraged, although they worked much harder than I did. I only needed a bit of lavender and rosemary.

This recipe I have adapted for my own purpose from a recipe book I use frequently, Apples for Jam, by a great author, Tessa Kiros who is full of inspiration for any cook, her books are just a pleasure to sit and look through.

Anyway I digress, let me get to the recipe. It uses summer flavours and promises to be light, moist and topped with a delicious lemon icing. It is very easy to make and the ingredients are not difficult to find. If you have no lavender in the garden, you can omitt it from the recipe or find it at good supermarkets such as Ocado which stocks Barts Lavender.

Ingrendients

150g butter
115g dark brown sugar
175g honey
200g plain white flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tbsp finely chopped lavender flowers
1 tbsp finely chopped rosemary
2 eggs beaten

Lemon Icing

250g icing sugar
100g butter
1-2 tsp finely grated lemon zest
2 tbsp lemon juice

Grease and line a 22cm tin, put your oven on 180C.

Warm the butter, sugar and honey in a pan, with 1 tbsp of water. Stir occasionally until the butter is melted and sugar dissolved. Cool.

Meanwhile sift the flour, baking powder, cinnamon into a mixing bowl. Add the lavender & rosemary, eggs and honey mixture and beat until well combined. Pour into your prepared tin and bake 35-40 mins. (Mine baked nearer 35 mins, but I have a fan oven). Cool in the tin.

For the icing, sift icing sugar into a bowl, add butter, lemon zest & juice, and 1tbsp of water. Again beat until smooth. Spread over the cooled cake. Finally add a few lavender flowers to decorate.

IMG_8620.JPG

3 thoughts on “Honey Cake With Lavender and Rosemary

Leave a Reply

